Day 4 #40daysofhijab

Day 4 is finished. Today my hijab wearing was absolutely uneventful. And if by uneventful I mean, I only had a normal amount of people stare and quickly look away as I turned toward them 🙂

Although the day was uneventful in the area of hijab wearing, we did have my mom and siblings over for dinner. My mom is a very special woman who has been through more than her fair share of shit. She has adopted 4 kids-Jenna (23), Kaleb (14), Chloe (10), & Marilee (6)-and she is doing a great job.

While all the kids went downstairs to play, Jeff, my mom, and I sat down on the couch to talk before dinner was ready. Our whole conversation was on the topic Islam. It all began with helping my mom understand the terms “Islam” and “Muslim” and how they related to one another, basically saying that Islam is to Muslim as Christianity is to Christian. Moving on from there we went on to explore the term “Arab”. We talked about how many people in the states equate the term “Arab” with Muslim, and the two are not mutually exclusive. All Arabs are not all Muslim, and all Muslims are not all Arab. I know many Arab Christians personally, and the Christian church began in the Middle East 2,000 years ago. I also know many Arab Muslims, and Islam began in the Middle East 1,400 years ago because Mohammad wanted to unite the Arab people and bring them back to worshiping the one true God, instead of multiple gods.

We went on to talk about ISIS and if all Muslims are like them. We replied with an absolute no. Members of the same religions interpret their holy books in different ways.  ISIS is basing their ideology on an interpretation of the Qur’an, Hadith, and Sharia Law. Likewise, those Muslims who oppose ISIS are doing the same thing with the same materials. Click here for an example. Christians do the same thing…different denominations draw different conclusions by interpreting the Scriptures as they see them, and these denominations form specific doctrinal statements that they choose to follow.  Obviously, the ramifications in the case of ISIS are far greater, but the point still needs to be made.

My mom’s final question was this, “How was it possible that I didn’t know anything about Muslims prior to 9/11?” My answer, “The internet wasn’t what it is today…and you lived in Pekin”.

Although my day was uneventful outside the walls of my house, I had a wonderful evening with my husband helping someone else (my mother at that) understand more about the world in which we live.

