Day 21 #40daysofhijab

Day 21 is complete. It’s currently Day 22 and one o’clock in the morning. I should be sleeping, and I’m sure I will regret being awake this late in the morning, but I felt like I needed to post this. My husband shared a video with me of His Majesty King Abdullah II of Jordan, speaking in France on March 10, 2015 to the European Parliament. It was beautiful. He spoke of the need for inclusion, unity, and peace. He said many, many things that I found extremely inspiring, but two things stood out to me.

Firstly, he said these powerful words,

“It is also essential that our regions renew the source of our great strength: the mutual respect that binds and sustains us. Young people, especially, must be inspired by values that reject violence, create peace and build inclusive society” and he continues by striving the importance of “meaningful interfaith outreach, engaging people where they live”.

The second thing that he said that stood out to me was this,

“This is why it is important to clarify what it really means to be a Muslim. I and countless other Muslims, have been taught from our earliest years that our religion demanded respect and caring for others. The Prophet Mohammad, peace and blessings be upon him, said: “None of you has faith until you love for your neighbor what you love for yourself.

This is what it means to be a Muslim.

Among the very names of God, we hear: the Compassionate, the All-Merciful. All my life, every day, I have heard and used the greeting, Assalamu aleikum — a wish for the other to be blessed with peace.

This is what it means to be a Muslim.”

Please watch and listen to his whole speech here. It is amazing. I am so glad that Jeff and I had the chance to live in Jordan. What an honor.

Striving to love neighbors, strangers, and enemies.

Grace & Peace.

